4 Nagpur leaders likely to get cabinet ministries in Uddhav Thackeray govt.

Radhika Dhawad | Nov 27, 2019 14:46

The formation of the Uddhav Thackeray government and its ministry in Maharashtra would soon happen in the coming days. Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray would take oath as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra tomorrow (Thursday, November 27) at Shivaji Park in Mumbai. Out of 42 ministerial berths (approx.), while the Congress has reportedly agreed to give up its claim on the Speaker’s post in return for 13 berths — nine cabinet and four state, it has been said that the NCP might get around 16 berths – seven cabinet and eight state.

Rumours in political circles in Nagpur are rife that four senior Congress leaders from Nagpur might get inducted into the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress government called the Maha Vikas Aghadi. The possible names doing the rounds for the cabinet berths from the city from Congress include former state cabinet minister and MLA Dr Nitin Raut, former MP Nana Patole and  former Leader of Opposition (LoP) Vijay Wadettiwar.

Chances of inducting former cabinet minister from state and NCP MLA Anil Deshmukh in the Thackeray government are said to be high. Apart from him, Congress MLA Sunil Kedar is also in contention for the same.

When Nation Next spoke to Dr Nitin Raut, MLA from Nagpur North constituency about the same, he said, “If we’re considered for ministry, it would only be due to our competence. Also, our social equations matter a lot. Some leaders in the ministry would be from OBC or Dalit background.”

 Also read: Cousins Supriya Sule, Ajit Pawar ‘hug it out’ at Vidhan Bhavan