Congress lists 47 leaders for Maha Assembly polls; Nagpur candidates to be announced in 2nd list

Radhika Dhawad | Sep 27, 2019 14:50

The Congress party released a list of 47 candidates out of 125, which are finalised for the upcoming Maharashtra Assembly elections due on October 21. The list for Nagpur is expected to be released in a day or two.

While the party in its list on Thursday gave former Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan from Karad amiss, it replaced Ameeta Chavan with her husband and former Congress leader Ashok Chavan for Bhokar seat. If reports are to be believed, Prithviraj Chavan wasn’t too keen on contesting the Lok Sabha by-elections against Udayanraje Bhosale.

Some of the other names approved include: Congress chief for Maharashtra Balasaheb Thorat (Sangamner), Vasant Chavan (Naigaon-Nanded), Yashomati Thakur (Tiwasa), Sangram Thopte (Bhor), leader of opposition Vijay Wadettiwar (Bramhapuri), Veerendra Jagtap (Dhamangaon), DP Sawant (Nanded), Amin Patel (Mumbadevi), Varsha Gaikwad (Dharavi), Bhai Jagtap (Colaba), Nasim Khan (Chandiwali), KC Padvi (Akkalkuwa), Sanjay Jagtap (Saswad), Sunil Kedar (Saoner), Amit Deshmukh (Latur) and Basvaraj Patil (Ausa).

Also read:  Nagpur ICAI students protest against current system of evaluation; demand rechecking answer sheets