Congress’ Vikas Thakre defeats BJP’s Sudhakar Deshmukh from Nagpur West Constituency

Amar Ashok Jajoo | Oct 24, 2019 17:24

Vikas Thakre
Vikas Thakre

Nagpur City Congress Chief Vikas Thakre has defeated BJP’s sitting MLA Sudhakar Deshmukh from Nagpur West in Maharashtra Elections 2019. Deshmukh, who was elected as an MLA in 2009 and then in 2014, was defeated by Thakre by 6,367 votes.  This is the first time that Thakre has been elected as an MLA.

Also read: CM Fadnavis wins from Nagpur South West constituency

While Thakre got 83,252 votes and his vote share stood at 46.65 %, Deshmukh got 76,885 votes with a vote share of 43.08 %. The closest competitor to Thakre and Deshmukh was BSP’s Afzal Farooque who got just 8,427 votes. In the Nagpur West Constituency, 3,717 people exercised the NOTA option.