GH Raisoni Law School conducts its 12th National Law Fest ‘Kshan’ in Nagpur

Suyash Sethiya | Mar 18, 2017 21:15

GH Raisoni Law School (GHRLS), Nagpur, recently organised its 12th National Law Fest – ‘Kshan-12th National Trial and Appellate Moot Court 2017’. Eighteen teams of various law students from different universities across the states like National Law University of Gujarat, National Law University of Patiala, National Law University of Odisha, National Law University of Bhopal, Symbiosis Law School, Pune, ILS Law College, Pune and many other universities had participated.

Moot court is basically a mock court where law students argue with their opponents over imaginary cases for practice. The student who provide the best arguments wins the moot.

The winner for ‘Kshan-12th National Trial and Appellate Moot Court 2017’ was SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law, Mumbai. The main aim of the competition was to develop good communication skills among students and create ways for students to grow in the field of law. Renowned judges and eminent lawyers adjudged the moot court session.

Justice BP Dharmadhikari, (Judge, Bombay High Court, Nagpur Bench) was the chief guest who inaugurated the function. While Justice RC Chavan was the chairperson, Vijendra Kumar (Vice-Chancellor of Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur,) was the guest of honour. JL Aparajit, Director of GHRLS, Amit Gandhare, PRO of Raisoni Group of Institutions, Aarti Kalnawat, Moot Court Coordinator and President, Tejas Fadnavis were also present during the event.

On the second day, the preliminary rounds and quarterfinals for the Moot Court competition were held among all the 18 teams. In the evening, personality contest was also held for the participants.

The semi-final and final rounds of the competition were held on the last day of the competition, where SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law, Mumbai, defeated AMITY Law School, Delhi and won the competition.

The final round was judged by justice VA Naik of Bombay High Court, Nagpur Bench, along with Justice VC Daga (retd) and retired Justice JN Patel (retd). The valedictory and prize distribution function was held in the presence of Justice VA Naik as the chief guest. While justice VS Sirpurkar was the chairperson, justice VC Daga and Justice Patel were the guests of honour.

Click to read more from Next on Campus!

Pictures by: Kartik Thakur