Here’s how actor-turned-politicians fared in Lok Sabha Elections 2019

    Amar Ashok Jajoo | May 24, 2019 15:44

    From Left: Sunny Deol, Urmila Matondkar, Ravi Kishan and Mimi Chakraborty

    BJP has done the unthinkable. It has become the first party apart from Indian National Congress in the history of independent India to get a clear majority and form government for two consecutive terms. BJP has not only created history, it has also outdone itself. While in Lok Sabha 2014 elections BJP won 272 seats, in Lok Sabha Elections 2019, it has won 303 seats. Among those who contested the 2019 elections, there were also some actor-turned-politicians. Here’s how these actor-turned-politicians fared in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

    → Smriti Irani from BJP468514 votes

    Closest Competitor: Congress President Rahul Gandhi413394 votes

    Result: Win

    Margin: 55120 votes

    Constituency: Amethi from Uttar Pradesh

    → Sunny Deol from BJP – 558719 votes

    Closest Competitor: Sunil Kumar Jakhar from Congress – 476260 votes

    Result: Win

    Margin: 82459 votes

    Constituency: Gurdaspur in Punjab

    → Urmila Matondkar from Congress – 241431 votes

    Closest Competitor: Gopal Shetty from BJP – 706678 votes

    Result: Loss

    Margin: 465247 votes

    Constituency: Mumbai North

    → Kirron Kher from BJP – 231188 votes

    Closest Competitor: Pawan Kumar Bansal from Congress – 184218 votes

    Result: Win

    Margin: 46970 votes

    Constituency: Chandigarh

    → Prakash Raj (Independent ) – 28906 votes

    Winner: PC Mohan from BJP – 602853 votes

    Result: Loss

    Constituency: Bangalore Central

    → Shatrughan Sinha from Congress – 322849 votes

    Closest Competitor: Ravi Shankar Prasad from BJP – 607506 votes

    Result: Loss

    Margin: 284657 votes

    Constituency: Patna Sahib

    → Hema Malini from BJP – 671293 votes

    Closest Competitor: Kunwar Narendra Singh from RLD – 377822 votes

    Result: Win

    Margin: 293471 votes

    Constituency: Mathura

    → Jaya Prada from BJP – 449180 votes

    Closest competitor: Against: Azam Khan from Samajwadi Party – 559177 votes

    Result: Loss

    Margin: 109997 votes

    Constituency: Rampur in Uttar Pradesh

    → Ravi Kishan from BJP – 717122 votes

    Closest Competitor: Rambhual Nishad from Samajwadi Party – 415458 votes

    Result: Win

    Margin: 301664 votes

    Constituency: Gorakhpur in Uttar Pradesh

    → Dinesh Lal Yadav from BJP – 361704 votes

    Closest Competitor: Akhilesh Yadav from Samajwadi Party – 621578 votes

    Result: Loss

    Margin: 259874 votes

    Constituency: Azamgarh

    → Manoj Tiwari from BJP – 787799 votes

    Closest Competitor: Sheila Dikshit from Congress – 421697 votes

    Result: Win

    Margin: 366102 votes

    Constituency: North East Delhi

    → Moon Moon Sen from Trinamool Congress – 435741 votes

    Closest Competitor: Babul Surpiyo from BJP – 633378 votes

    Result: Loss

    Margin: 197637 votes

    Constituency: Asansol

    → Mimi Chakraborty from Trinamool Congress – 688472 votes

    Closest Competitor: Anupam Hazra from BJP – 393233 votes

    Result: Win

    Margin: 295239 votes

    Constituency: Jadavpur in West Bengal

    → Nusrat Jahan from Trinamool Congress – 782078 votes

    closest competitor: Sayantan Basu from BJP – 431709 votes

    Result: Win

    Margin: 350369 votes

    Constituency: Basirhat in West Bengal

    → Sumalatha (independent) – 703660 votes

    Closest Competitor: Nikhil Kumarswamy from JD(S) – 577784 votes

    Result: Win

    Margin: 125876 votes

    Constituency: Mandya in Karnataka

    → Innocent Vareed Thekkethala from CPI (M) – 341170 votes

    Closest Competitor: Benny Behanan from Congress – 4733444 votes

    Result: Loss

    Margin: 132274 votes

    Constituency: Chalakudy in Kerala