Nagpur BJP Chief Pravin Datke to contest MLC election 2020

Amar Ashok Jajoo | May 8, 2020 19:30

Pravin Datke (File Photo: Nation Next)

Former Nagpur Mayor and city BJP Chief Pravin Datke is all set to contest the upcoming Maharashtra Legislative Council biennial elections to be held on May 21. The polling will take place to fill 9 vacant seats.

BJP, on Friday, named Datke along with Gopichand Padalkar, Ajit Gopchande and Ranjit Singh Mohite Patil as candidates for the four seats the saffron party will contest. Interestingly, BJP has decided to ignore senior leaders like Pankaja Munde, Chandrashekhar Bawankule, Eknath Khadse and Vinod Tawde for the MLC ticket and bet  on fresh faces instead.

Also read: States should consider home delivery of alcohol, suggests Supreme Court

Meanwhile, ruling party Shiv Sena has finalized the nomination of Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and senior leader Neelam Gorhe, who is the sitting deputy chairman of legislative council. It is to be noted that getting elected to either houses of state legislature is a constitutional obligation for Thackeray, who will have to reign as Maharashtra CM if he fails to get elected.

The last date for filing the nomination is May 11 and last date for withdrawal is May 14.