Nagpur Branch of ICAI bags Best Regional Branch Award for 2017-18

Nation Next Newsroom | Apr 7, 2018 12:43

Nagpur Branch of WIRC ICAI was recently awarded with the Best Regional Branch award for the Western region comprising 35 branches of WIRC of ICAI.
Umang V Agrawal, Vishnu Agrawal, Sandeep KC Jain, Abhijit Kelkar, Julfesh Shah, Sandeep Jotwani, Sarvesh Joshi and members of Nagpur Branch receiving the award from Prafulla Chajjed (Vice President, ICAI).

The Nagpur Branch of the Western India Regional Council (WIRC) of The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (ICAI) was recently awarded with the Best Regional Branch award for the western region comprising 35 branches of WIRC of ICAI. Along with the best regional branch award, WICASA Nagpur was also adjudged as the second best students’ association for the year 2017-18. The award function was held at YB Chavhan auditorium, Mumbai, in presence of Prafulla Chajjed, (Vice President, ICAI), Sandeep KC Jain (Chairman, WIRC), Priyam Shah (Vice Chairman, WIRC) and a large number of chartered accountants from across the country.

The Nagpur Branch under the chairmanship of chartered accountant Sandeep Jotwani organised around 485 programs during 2017-18. These programs included various seminars, lecture meets, conferences, workshops, training programs, remodeled and redesigned study circle – Samvaad, intensive study cources, certificate courses and interactive meetings concentrating on practical exposure and expertise for the members. The branch also conducted host of academic programs with focus on emerging areas of practice, knowledge enhancing and professional enrichment.

As part of its social responsibility, the branch organised an eye check-up camp, blood donation camp and a tree plantation drive during the year. A visit to an orphanage was also organised wherein stationary and school kits were distributed among the needy and under-privileged students.

In a statement released by the Nagpur Branch, Sandeep Jotwani, Immediate Past Chairman, said, “The plethora of activities undertaken successfully by the Nagpur Branch was a result of team work as well as motivation, support and co-operation from all the members and students throughout the year, which was duly recognized by the ICAI and resulted in further enhancement of the brand building of the institute.” Jotwani thanked Ashok Chandak and Jaydeep Shah (Past Presidents, ICAI), Abhijit Kelkar (Regional Council Member), Julfesh Shah, all the past chairmen of Nagpur Branch, all the senior members and the managing committee for their active support during the year.

Umang V Agrawal (Present Chairman), complimented the work done by the predecessor chairman in the year 2017-18 and congratulated the entire team for the accolades received by the branch at national and regional level. He further thanked all the members and students for their active support and encouragement throughout the year. He also assured that the current year shall again be an eventful one with a lot of activities being organized by the branch for members and students throughout the year.