Nagpur’s next Mayor to be from open category; Sandip Joshi emerges front-runner

Radhika Dhawad | Nov 13, 2019 17:47

Sandip Joshi

Reservations for the post of mayor for 27 Municipal Corporations including Nagpur were declared on Wednesday through a draw. As per the draw, the next mayor of Nagpur city would be from open category, for which BJP corporator and Ruling Party Leader of the Nagpur Municipal Corporations (NMC) Sandip Joshi has emerged as the front-runner, who’s also said to be close to former chief minister Devendra Fadnavis. Apart from Joshi, Dayashankar Tiwari, Sanjay Bangale, etc are also being considered in the race.

While Nanda Jichkar is currently the city’s mayor from OBC category for the first two-and-a-half-years, the second mayor for the remaining two-and-a-half-years would be from open category. Jichkar’s term would expire on November 21 this year, following which the elections for the same post would be held.

Also read: Sonia Gandhi’s phone call to Sharad Pawar that preceeded President’s rule in Maharashtra