NCP’s Anil Deshmukh reclaims Katol seat from BJP, wins for 5th time

Radhika Dhawad | Oct 24, 2019 18:11

Anil Deshmukh

Senior Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader and former Maharashtra minister Anil Deshmukh reclaimed his lost seat from Katol constituency against BJP’s Charan Singh Thakur. Though the results weren’t declared officially but by the time this report was filed, it was almost certain that Deshmukh would be winning from Katol. 

Deshmukh secured 94628 votes compared to Thakur’s 78356 votes. The senior leader, who won for the fifth time, defeated Thakur by a margin of 16272 votes.  Earlier in 2014, Deshmukh for the first time lost to his nephew and former BJP MLA Ashish Deshmukh by over 5000 votes from Katol.  

Also read: Congress’ Vikas Thakre defeats BJP’s Sudhakar Deshmukh from Nagpur West Constituency