Reserve Bank of India introduces new Rs 10 banknotes

Nation Next Newsroom | Jan 5, 2018 14:52

The new Rs 10 banknotes introduced by the Reserve Bank of India.

The Reserve Bank Of India (RBI) will soon issue new Rs 10 banknotes in the Mahatma Gandhi (new) series, bearing the signature of Dr Urijit Patel, Governor, RBI. All the banknotes in the denomination of Rs 10 issued by RBI in the earlier series will continue to be legal tender. The announcement was made by RBI through a press release on their site.

The new denomination will have a motif of Sun Temple at Konark on the back thereby depicting India’s cultural heritage. The dimension of the banknote will be 63 mm x 123 mm. Here are the other salient features of the new Rs 10 banknote:

– Portrait of Mahatma Gandhi in the centre
– Denominational number 10 in Devnagari
– See through register with denominational numeral 10
– Micro letters – RBI, Bharat (in Hindi), India and 10
– Windowed demetalised security thread with inscriptions ‘Bharat’ and ‘RBI’
– Guarantee clause, Governor’s signature with promise clause and the RBI emblem towards right of Mahatma Gandhi portrait
– Ashoka Pillar emblem on the right
– 10 electrotype watermarks
– Number panel with numerals growing from small to big on the top left side and bottom right side

– Year of printing of the note on the left
– Swachh Bharat logo with slogan
– Language panel
– Motif of Sun Temple at Konark
– Denominational numeral 10 in Devnagari