Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis sings his favourite song ‘Teri Deewani’ with Kailash Kher

Juhi Sethi | Mar 29, 2017 18:38

Melodious singer Kailash Kher came calling to Nagpur to perform when Lokmat group recently organised the 4th Sur Jyotsna National Music Awards at Divisional Sports Complex, Indoor Stadium, Mankapur, Nagpur. The awards, which are an annual affair are organised in the memory of late Jyotsna Darda – wife of former Rajya Sabha MP and Chairman of Lokmat Media Private Limited – Vijay Darda. While Chief Minister of Maharashtra Devendra Fadnavis was the chief guest at the awards function and was accompanied by his wife Amruta Fadnavis, also present at the function were Guardian Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule, cabinet minister Sudhir Mungantiwar, MLA Sudhakar Deshmukh, MLA Sameer Meghe, MLA Ashish Deshmukh, playback singers Roop Kumar and Sunali Rathod, former cabinet minister Anil Deshmukh and the entire Darda family.

A rare moment

Singing for a jam-packed stadium, Kailash Kher entertained his fans as he sung his hit songs one after the other. Kailash, however, didn’t sing his popular song ‘Teri Deewani’ until Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis arrived at the venue as he revealed that it is the CM’s favourite song. And when he finally sung the song, the audience was in for something they had never seen. As Kailash walked towards the CM while singing the song, he held the mic close to Fadnavis and made him sing along with him! While we all have heard Amruta Fadnavis sing when she sung a duet with Arijit Singh for the movie Jai Gangaajal, it was heartening to see Maharashtra CM enjoying and singing a few lines of ‘Teri Deewani’. Needless to say, the audience cheered non-stop during this rare moment!

Watch CM Devendra Fadnavis sing along with Kailash Kher here:

Awarding talent

Two singers were awarded at the function in the popular and the classical category. While Swamduti Majumdar from Kolkata won in the popular category, Ramakant Gaikwad from Mumbai won the award in the classical category. These winners were selected by the jury which consisted of Roop Kumar Rathod, Pankaj Udhas, Kailash Kher, Shankar Mahadevan, Vijay Darda and Shashi Vyas. The winners were felicitated by CM Devendra Fadnavis and other honourable guests.

Pictures by: Kartik Thakur